The Spirtual Personality Type: Defining Ones Path in Life


For much of my life I’ve struggled with acceptance- particularly where it concerns my path and/or purpose in life.

Specific events relating to my personal life have inspired me to further investigate the juxtaposition between personality types in both the spiritual and psychological sense, and how they affect our life path.

While there have been various typologies throughout the years, the most infamous of the psychological personality types originated from the hypothetical work of Carl Jung and were published as Psychological Types in 1921. Other typologies include Socionics, MBTI, and Keirsey Temperament Sorter, all of which have Jungian philosophical roots.

The MBTI (Meyers Briggs Type Indicator) is the most commonly used test.  It is ” an assessment psychometric questionnaire designed to measure psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions.” These  psychological preferences derived from the typological theories posed by Carl Jung.

The MBTI is made up of 16 personality types:

The ISTJ, ISFJ, INFJ, INTJ, ISTP, ISFP, INFP, INTP, ESTP, ESFP, ENFP, ENTP, ESTJ, ESFJ, ENFJ, and ENTJ.

For purposes of your curiosity, my MBTI personality type is an INFJ:

“Seek meaning and connection in ideas, relationships, and material possessions. Want to understand what motivates people and are insightful about others. Conscientious and committed to their firm values. Develop a clear vision about how best to serve the common good. Organized and decisive in implementing their vision.”

For the most part this is true. But- “seeking meaning and connection in idea’s and relationships; wanting to understand what motivates people and are insightful about others,” best describes my personal state of mind. In other words, I am an empath, pure in form.

From nearly 20 years of work in the psychiatric and spiritual fields,  Dr. Drew Ross developed what is known as “spiritual personality types.” According to Dr. Ross, ” Spiritual personalities are different types of approaches to the world, and to spiritual inquiry.” One question that is frequently posed is whether or not the spiritual personality test is the same as many of the other personality tests out there. “The test has some of the same basic approaches to types of personality, but it is mostly new. We don’t use much of the same terminology as older tests,” says Dr. Ross.

There are currently 12 spiritual personality types. The names of these personality types come from a variety of ancient languages, including, Sanskrit, Ancient Greek, Aramaic, Latin, and Ancient Hebrew.

I Zabater, the visionary leader
II Vayater, the visionary problem-solver
III Lyremer, the architect
IV Marraker, the organizer
V Perfizer, the achiever
VI Terraker, the Earth lover
VII Ediamer, the idealist
VIII Arahter, the inspirer
IX Devaier, the artist
X Salumer, the shaman
XI Obaculer, the oracle
XII Caeder, the visionary

It comes as no surprise to me that I fall under category 10, the Salumer, the shaman. There are more than a few of the Salumer’s characteristics that fall in line with my MBTI personality. 

Once again, use of the noun empath seems appropriate.

Here are some highlights of the Salumer, and they’re eerily on par with my personal issues.

Special Talents- The ability to see blockages and confusion, and to help others to find a path through and beyond them.

Challenges- The main ill on the planet is forgetting deep truth, and it can be overwhelming. You don’t have to heal the whole thing by tomorrow.

Relationship Issues– There is a danger in falling in love with someone who seems as though they will become great under your care. Your job in relationships is to find your equal, not someone who can benefit from your healing.

Emotional Issues– On the positive side, you can feel great release and relief with your many epiphanies and realizations. On the negative side, be careful not to take in too much of others’ suffering and pain — it is not yours.

Let’s just say that I have yet to master these “gifts” of mine. I regularly find myself in painful situations.

To find out your spiritual personality type, you can go to http://www.spiritualpersonality.com/

6 thoughts on “The Spirtual Personality Type: Defining Ones Path in Life

  1. Annabella —

    I’m glad that the site came at a great time for you. I’ve heard similar stories from other users. Our job now is to spread the word about it.
    Aloha,
    Drew

    • Dr. Drew,

      I will do my best to pass your site along to others. Let me know if there is anything else I can do. Aside from my personal blog, I am a freelance writer and paid blogger.

      Look for new things to come- a spin off of sorts of this blog.

      Take care,

      Annabella

  2. Thank you Dr. Drew. I have a text link to your site highlighted in your name, but I have become aware that I could have made the location of your website a little more obvious.

    Finding your website was not a coincidence, but rather perfect timing. I’ve been growing tremendously in a spirtual since for about three years now- even so, my soul can still be shaken to its core. I was going through a painful experience when I found your site, and it helped put things back into perspective.

    I would recommend your site to anyone.

    Thanks.

    -Annabella

  3. How do you find out what personality category you fall under?

Leave a Reply

