Top Ten Songs That Describe Your Life-Pt. 2 (With Videos)


Alas! The long awaited sequel to “Top Ten Songs That Describe Your Life-Pt. 1.”  Part one was a list made up of songs that friends, family, and lovers associate with you. This list, however, is the list of songs that read like the storybook of your life- the type of songs that induce flashbacks, so to speak. Everyone has a soundtrack to their life. If my life ever became a movie, the soundtrack would look something like this…What would yours look like?

1. Pink, Family Portrait- Unfortunately, like many adolescents (to adults) in the world today, my family is the perfect picture of dysfunction. The song and video speak for itself.

 2. Pink, Don’t Let Me Get Me- Since mid semester of 7th grade, I’ve known who I was, what my morals were, and that I was not going to conform to anyone’s standards but my own. This song, and the video, say it perfectly-there isn’t much else that needs to be said.

3. Radiohead, Creep- By the time I reached my teens, I had seen and experienced far more than I should have. I was involuntarily forced to grow up faster than most kids my age- childhood traumas and such. You’ve heard the same sad account in many a memoir. Most unfortunate, is the fact that many kids feel this way, with or without childhood trauma.

4. Candlebox, You- Being an empath is an exhausting  job, especially at a young age.  I went through a period from the ages of 15-17 where I was a walking time bomb, but by 17, I had reached the point where enough was enough. The only downer is becoming  jaded at such a young age-it’s not great.

5. Nine Inch Nails, Hurt- This is, quite possibly, the most personal of all the songs on the list.  The lyrical genius of lead singer Trent Reznor and his uncanny ability to relate to his fans on such an emotional level is a sheer delight, no matter how depressing the subject matter may be. For over ten years I’ve struggled with these words, and it seems to get progressively worse over the years…

6. Linkin Park, Crawlling- Another personal song. This is the kind of song that epitomizes the “this song was written about me!” mantra.

7. Faith No More, Epic- An epic song indeed, this song has somewhat of a political agenda behind it. It’s also the type of song that leaves you forming your own conclusions.

8. Tears for Fears, Mad World- This video is from the movie “Girl Interrupted”, a fitting song for a fitting scenario. I relate closely to both the song, and the movie.

9. Sia, Breathe Me- This song is probably the most meaningful song on the list because it affects me as an individual, and connects me to a person who I loved and lost to death’s cruel hand of fate. The video serves as a bonus feature. It is a grossly accurate picture of the way my brain works. Two words…. racing thoughts.

10. Tori Amos, Precious Things- This particular song has been a long time favorite of mine and it’s one of those songs that give you goose bumps nearly every-time you hear it-that is of course if you can directly feel the emotion behind the song itself. Like Trent Reznor, Tori Amos has a tremendous amount of valency when it comes  to connecting with her audience. To see her perform live is truly a gift given from the heavens above. See for yourself…

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Songs That Describe Your Life-Pt. 2 (With Videos)

  1. charming post. due one decimal where I bicker with it. I am emailing you in detail.

  2. Tears For Fears did the original version of “Mad World”.. the version you have on here is from Gary Jules and Michael Andrews. It was also in Donnie Darko.

Leave a Reply

