Tornado Destroys Murfreesboro, TN


STORM KILLS TWO AND INJURES AROUND 30

 On April 10th, 2009, a tornado ripped through the city of Murfreesboro, TN (my hometown) devouring everything in it’s path.

Murfreesboro is a city located just 30 miles from Nashville, TN; it has been labeled “the fastest growing major city in Tennessee, and one of the fastest growing cities in the country.” This is in large part due to Middle Tennessee State University, a school known for its top rated recording industry program. (R.I.M.) People all over, from the east coast to the west coast, make Murfreesboro their new place to call home on a yearly basis, but the one thing many newcomers’ don’t expect is the erratic weather patterns that have become a symbol of the state.

Jolted out of my sleep by an earth shaking thunder bolt, I immediately arose to assess the condition outside. As I peered out the door, I noted how unsettling the stillness was amongst the rolling clouds. Over the past several weeks we have had a barrage of storms, one even that produced an E F-1 tornado, which destroyed two buildings. That storm, and the tornado specifically, was limited and mild in comparison to true spring storms in the region. (Something you come to learn after living in the area for so many years.) The difference between the magnitude of the storms, in my opinion, is the way they begin. Most of the storms that are milder, start out as a thunderstorm first, with rain and strong winds from the beginning. Today’s storm however, started only with abysmal thunderous roars and an overcast sky with rapidly moving, low scattering clouds.  Are you asking yourself what the difference is? I mentioned it before, it’s the stillness. In most cases, stillness is akin to calmness; not in this case, in this case stillness is a sure sign of bad things to come, and they did.

While I hovered up against the wall with pillows over my head, and prayers coming silently from my mouth, my mind began to race. (Racing thoughts are not at all uncommon with me.) Part of me didn’t know what to think, or how to feel, it was so surreal, and yet it bothered me that I wasn’t as scared as I normally am. Then the storm began to strengthen, “God please make it stop, not now, you can’t take me now”.

In the past two years I have endured more pain then most people do in a lifetime, but it has, in some strange way awoken my spiritual senses. I know now, more than ever, what I’m supposed to do with my life; what my role is, what my purpose is, and though I will always struggle with my imperfections, I have a direction to travel in.

Today’s storms are synonymous with words like shock, tragedy, sorrow, and loss. Two lives were lost, and many others were injured. Even more people lost their homes, but there is still room for one more word-Hope. Whatever it is that keeps you on your individual path, don’t lose sight, and if you haven’t found your direction yet, look closely at this tragedy and see what you can find. This goes for any tragedy, not just today’s tornado. Cliche or not, everything does happen for a reason- it does have a purpose. Maybe today’s tragedy is a call to show that humankind still has the capability of caring, not just about themselves, not for self serving purposes, but for those who are unable to care for themselves. With the economy the way it is, the struggle for these families is going to be that much more difficult. This is the perfect time to come together and aide those who are less fortunate.

Below is a listing of how you can help aide in this tragedy and a video tribute showing the destruction caused by today’s tornado.

Contact: The Heart of Tennessee: Chapter of the American Red Cross

(615) 893-4272

or to make an online contribution if you cannot directly help, visit:

http://www.midtnredcross.org/

To those suffering, you’re in our thoughts.

 

2 thoughts on “Tornado Destroys Murfreesboro, TN

  1. these tornados went right through my mom’s area of town. i am very thankful that nothing happened to her, or the rest of my family that lives nearby.

  2. Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this topic,so thanks for posting. I’ll certainly be subscribing to your posts.

Leave a Reply

